Research Guides: Art and Art History: Home

Ask A Librarian

Email Us

Chat 24/7

Text Us

Library Catalog

Recommended Databases for Art Research

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 9,500 journals and 10,000 other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of full text core journals in humanities, social sciences and sciences. It contains the entire runs of over 500 hundred important scholarly journals. The majority of journals in the archive have moving walls of between 3 and 5 years, but publishers may elect walls anywhere from zero to 10 years.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly articles in the areas of humanities and social sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
Developed and maintained by Yale University Press (YUP), the A&AePortal is a unique digital platform offering a curated selection of important art and architectural history titles, along with books in related disciplines (i.e., visual and material culture, classics, religion), as well as a sizable image collection. Its library comprises out-of-print, backlist, new, and born-digital books from YUP and various publishing partners, with some 50 books being added each year.