Nursing: Library Resources

Quick reference at the point-of-care, including evidence-based care sheets that summarize diseases and conditions, cultural competency information, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information.

The definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. Provides full text access to more than 1,400 journals and indexing for over 5,400 journals. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, book chapters, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.

Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals on a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Full text from 2001-. (Proquest)

Access to over 3 million journal articles in over 1,400 journals as well as 5,000 online books. Contains full-text articles for over 850 journals, the majority of which are published by Blackwell on behalf of international scholarly and professional societies. Journals cover a variety of disciplines, including the fields of arts and humanities, business and economics, engineering, law, medicine, social sciences, sciences, and technology. (Wiley InterScience)

Allows a multisearch of all of the EBSCOhost databases.

The R2 Digital Library is a market-leading eBook platform for health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks presented through a clean and intuitive interface.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish, published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Features: drug information written in lay language for consumers; Spanish version translated by experienced human health and medical translators (not by computer programs); monthly updates; “How To” monographs for administering different types of medications such as eye drops and inhalers; identifies medications that have the potential for adverse events when used by elderly patients.