Research Guides: ENG 111/112 English Comp: Home

Ask A Librarian

Email Us

Chat 24/7

Text Us

Find Books and Videos

Recommended ENG111/112 Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 9,500 journals and 10,000 other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Access viewpoint articles, pro-con, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
America's News This link opens in a new window
Includes the Daily Press, Virginian-Pilot, and the Richmond Times-Dispatch as well as expansive access to U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources. Source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed local coverage or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Includes access to the Daily Press and Virginian-Pilot
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Users may browse through articles by topics, or search for articles using keywords. Our subscription to the database goes back to 1923 and up to present.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
EBSCO Collection Databases This link opens in a new window
Use EBSCOhost's main menu to choose from a wide variety of databases.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including titles in Oxford Companions Series. All books are cross-searchable.