Research Guides: Political Science & Government: Government Resources

Ask A Librarian

757-825-2700

Email Us

Chat 24/7

Text Us

Library Catalog

Recommended Databases

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides extensive coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Political Science Complete provides nearly 340 full-text reference books and monographs and more than 44,000 full-text conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
America's News This link opens in a new window
Includes the Daily Press, Virginian-Pilot, and the Richmond Times-Dispatch as well as expansive access to U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources. Source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed local coverage or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Includes access to the Daily Press and Virginian-Pilot
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Access over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. Contains full text of US Supreme Court and federal, and state court decisions as well as law review articles. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 9,500 journals and 10,000 other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Users may browse through articles by topics, or search for articles using keywords. Our subscription to the database goes back to 1923 and up to present.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Access viewpoint articles, pro-con, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Related Guides

Elections, Politics, and Voting
by Courtney Marshall Last Update Sep 25, 2024 81 views this year
Statistical Resources
by Vickie Herzog Last Update Jul 22, 2024 32 views this year
Law
by Haddon Wright Last Update Sep 25, 2024 681 views this year