LGBTQIA History and Resources: Web Resources

The AIDS History Project at the University of California, San Francisco provides access to digitized primary sources on HIV/AIDS activism dating back to the 1980s.

The Digital Transgender Archive compiles digitized and digital primary sources related to transgender history that are held by archives worldwide.

The LGBT Historical Society offers a robust collection of digital artifacts and online exhibits as well as primary sources and research guides organized by topic.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives has digitized a wealth of primary sources, such as newsletters, t-shirt images, and audiovisual materials, that document lesbian lives and issues dating back to the1960s.

Making Gay History is an oral history podcast consisting of interviews beginning in the 1980s with LGBTQ historical figures.

The Ace and Aro Advocacy Project provides resources for people on the asexuality and aromantic spectrums, including educational material, chats, and meetup groups.

AVEN provides resources and a forum for people on the asexual spectrum as well as education about asexuality.

The Department of Veterans Affairs offers resources, including gender-affirming care and mental health care, for LGBTQ veterans. Each VA facility has an LGBTQ+ Veteran Care Coordinator.

Equality Virginia is a statewide organization that advocates for legal protections for LGBTQIA Virginians and also maintains a list of legal resources.

interACT advocates for intersex people's rights to bodily autonomy. The organization also provides resources for intersex people and their families.

The LGBT Life Center in Norfolk is dedicated to serving members of the LGBTQIA community in Hampton Roads. They offer services such as support groups, a food pantry, STI testing, services for seniors, counseling, gender-affirming care, and more.

PFLAG was originally founded as "Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays" in 1972 and has evolved to support people of all LGBTQIA identities as well as their families and allies.

The Trevor Project provides free crisis counseling for LGBTQIA young people through call, text, or chat and also provides education materials surrounding sexual orientation, gender identity, and mental health.